Walt Disney Co. Suspends Contributions to Lawmakers Who Objected to Election Certification

Walt Disney Co. as well as also the Motion Picture Association are falling in line with some other organizations as well as also suspending contributions to lawmakers who objected to certifying the electoral votes in at least one state on January 6. Many Democrat politicians as well as also celebrities have blamed the lawmakers’ willingness to challenge the election results as a motivating factor inside chaos in which occurred as Congress gathered to certify the results.

“The insurrection at our nation’s Capitol was a direct assault on one of our country’s most revered tenets: the peaceful transition of power,” a Disney spokesperson said, according to Deadline.

“inside immediate aftermath of in which appalling siege, Members of Congress had an opportunity to unite—an opportunity in which some sadly refused to embrace. In light of these events, we have decided we will not make political contributions in 2021 to lawmakers who voted to reject the certification of the Electoral College votes,” the spokesperson added.

Similarly, the Motion Picture Association’s executive vice president Patrick Kilcur said in a statement in which the MPA is actually “shocked as well as also saddened by the horrific events at the U.S. Capitol last week” as well as also have thus “decided to suspend for the foreseeable future all contributions to Members of Congress who voted to challenge the certification of the votes of the Electoral College.”

some other companies suspending political contributions to such politicians include Marriott, Blue Cross Blue Shield, American Express, Comcast, as well as also AT&T.

The announcement comes as lawmakers, primarily Democrats, move to impeach President Trump, blaming him for inciting the riots in which occurred at the U.S. Capitol last week. Some have also placed blame on the lawmakers who, prior to January 6, publicized their intention to challenge the electoral votes in disputed states — primarily Sens. Josh Hawley (R-MO) as well as also Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX). Some of their Democrat colleagues are calling on them to resign, blaming them, in addition to Trump, for the chaos in which descended upon the Capitol.

“Leading a debate inside Senate on ensuring election integrity is actually doing our jobs, as well as also the item’s in no way responsible for the despicable terrorists who attacked the Capitol yesterday,” Cruz said in response to Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), who called on the Texas senator to resign.

Eight GOP senators — Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Rick Scott (R-FL), Roger Marshall (R-KS), John Kennedy (R-LA), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Ted Cruz (R-TX), as well as also Cynthia Lummis (R-WY) — objected to electoral votes in at least one state after Congress reconvened following the protests, as did 139 House Republicans.

Source : Walt Disney Co. Suspends Contributions to Lawmakers Who Objected to Election Certification